Pointe-Aux-Vieux Excavation June 24, 2010

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The 2010 Excavation at Pointe-Aux-Vieux is coming to a close.

Thursday was a very busy day at the site. We all worked diligently to uncover as much as we could before the end of the day. There were lots of visitors, as well as media who had returned to do follow-up stories (see the Media page for links).

My feelings of happiness and excitement about everything we have accomplished in the past two weeks are mixed with sadness that the excavation is wrapping up. (I must ask Dr. Kristmanson if you get used to that feeling the more digs you do). We uncovered so much and now have to cover it back up, because archaeological practice is to return the site as you found it.

Shalen echoed my sentiments of sadness on Thursday. As I was brushing off stones, and when I’d step back to look at the entire site, I had to remind myself to be in the present. Admittedly, a funny place to be when working with history, but I felt it was important to just enjoy the experience. When we fill in the site and when the artefacts are processed, I will be ready to reflect.

Leave a Reply

